So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Variety is the Spice of Life April 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 3:08 pm

These week I made a variety of confections. I also included a pic of one of my husband’s :) First I’ll post these cranberry chocolate chip scones. I really don’t remember which day I made these! Either way, they were quite tasty and quick to assemble.

The only problem with these, I couldn’t get the powdered sugar to caramelize!  Next time I will stick to the regular cinnamon and sugar mixture on top and broil for a few seconds at the end to really crunch it up.

On Tuesday, I came home to find this:

Joe has been CRAVING homemade bread lately. So, on his day off he made a loaf. It was whole wheat and delicious! I know it included roasted garlic, roasted jalapenos, pistachios, pepitas, pinenuts, sesame seeds, all kinds of herbs. We have half still in the freezer for later use. YUM!

So, this week was achievement testing week at my school. To celebrate all of the hard work that the teachers have put in I spend 4-5 hours of my Wednesday night making 3 different types of cupcakes: Carrot with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting, Lemon-Limoncello (I have blogged these in the past), and Chocolate with raspberry filling and Almond Buttercream. They got rave reviews from all of my colleagues, and I may even get some orders for a bridal shower out of this!  Most importantly, my principal mentioned to me that she used to love Sam’s Club’s lemon cream cheese cake. Well, the Lemon-Limoncello cupcakes blew her away! SCORE! Here are the three. I will say, the carrot ones are not my best effort in terms of looks – they overflowed the pan and I had to make amends. Also, the lighting is bad on a few and I didn’t realize until I uploaded the pics today.

Chocolate with Raspberry Filling and Almond Buttercream:

Carrot:

Lemon-Limoncello – Boo on the strawberry juice that ran!

Finally, I made these cinnamon roll sugar cookies. They seriously taste like a cinnamon roll in cookie form. I recommend you making them ASAP! I made the dough on Saturday and let it chill overnight before I rolled out the cookies and baked today (Sunday). The only thing I changed was that I melted the butter and mixed in the brown sugar and cinnamon for the filling. I didn’t have a chance to let me butter soften enough to spread. It worked well, I thought.

Rolled Dough:

Filling spread:

Rolled up pre-slicing:

On the pan. I almost felt like I was making sushi rolls :)

Baked:

Frosted:

SOOO yummy!  One slipped off the cooling rack onto the counter, so naturally I had to eat it so as not to waste a good cookie ;) I have a full day meeting tomorrow, so I’ll be bringing a bunch of these and some of my TWD bakes (post on Tuesday of course) on a cookie tray to make the meeting a little more fun. I also left a dozen with my mom because she loves cinnamon just like me!

On the agenda for the week…
Ice Cream!!!! Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Chocolate S’mores for my class that won a Jeopardy challenge we had to study for the achievement test. I haven’t made ice cream since last summer, so I can’t wait :)

I was completely unpleased with these carrot cupcakes… does anyone have a good carrot cupcake recipe to share? I like when it includes pineapple and coconut!

Thanks for reading!

 

5 Responses to “Variety is the Spice of Life”

    • carly71722 Says:

      Thanks for sharing :) They look very tasty and DEFINITELY something I’d make for myself. Even though I make not so healthy baked goods I don’t eat very many of them. These would be a more “regular” choice for me to eat!

  1. Heather Says:

    Those cinnamon roll cookies look amazing! I can’t wait to try them myself!
    And I’d love to get that bread recipe – WOW. :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.