So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

How to Throw an Ohio Style Tailgate Party October 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 9:43 am

This past weekend Joe and I helped my parents throw a great tailgate style party for the Ohio State vs. Wisconsin game. The Buckeyes lost :( , but the party was a blast. I showed up at my parent’s house on Friday to make pudding shots (see later), and saw some crazy trailers hanging out in the driveway.

The trailer on the left is actually refrigerated with taps for kegs, and the trailer on the right is a pig roaster. **Warning, you will see a whole pig roasting in this post**

On Saturday, everything was in full force – kegs were tapped (Labatt and Magic Hat #9), pig was roasting, dips were in the oven, bigscreen TV in the garage, etc.

The Pig:

Here is my brother’s best friend, Matt, helping himself to some beer.

Homemade fries being made. We had the running joke that we were using the most expensive fry cutter ever, because it was hooked up to the hitch on my mom’s BMW! I missed a pic of the fry cutting, but here are some good shots of them.

We made two different dips and had some hummus too. Dippers included Stacy’s Pita Chips, blue corn tortilla chips, and a veggie tray. On the left is buffalo chicken dip, and on the right is Joe’s spinach and artichoke dip. I got the buffalo chicken dip recipe here. Joe just threw together the spin/art dip. I know it had lots of cheese and cream, was delicious, and definitely a splurge :) But its a tailgate, so that’s kind of expected.

In addition to the pig, we also had marinated chicken and burgers. It was all served with challah buns from Mediterra Bakery in Pittsburgh, which I had the pleasure of touring last week for work. If you can find any of their breads, get your hands on it!  I know that both Whole Foods in Cleveland and in Pittsburgh carry their products.

The party started at about 3:30 pm and the game didn’t start until 7 pm. So, when it got close to game time it was a little chilly and we headed inside to the basement. Here is the basement bar – the bright white above is a TV for the game!

Now was time to break out the pudding shots. They basically taste like a boozy frostie. Make them – recipe here. I used all regular cool whip though instead of strawberry. I liked these better than last time when I did use the strawberry.

Ready for dessert too!  Buckeyes of course, and Irish Cake Bombs from here. On the cake bombs, definitely some modifications, since this was my second time making them. For the amount of cake, I would half the cheesecake, eighth the whiskey ganache, and I just used melted chocolate to dip because the ganache wouldn’t firm up for me.

I also made pumpkin sandwich cookies, or whoopies, (sorry for the blurry picture) from this recipe – thanks Elina, and I used the cinnamon cream cheese frosting recipe that I used for my carrot cake cookies from here.

I definitely snacked on some leftovers of those the next day :) Hey, it was my 2 year anniversary, what the heck!

All in all it was a super fun night. It was really disappointing that we didn’t get a win, but the party rocked.

I continued on with the super splurge on Sunday for my anniversary with dinner at Bar Cento in Cleveland. It is one of mine and Joe’s favorite places. They have THE best pizzas and beers. I found a new beer love while I was there – Aventinus Dopplebock. It was spicy, rich, and so yummy!  Ignore Joe’s goofy face in the pic ;)

Isn’t that glass great???

What is your favorite beer?

What’s your favorite way to tailgate?

I hope everyone had a fun weekend!

 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.