So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Need a Good Cardio Workout? January 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 8:09 am

On days that I don’t lift and just do cardio, I aim for 50-60 minutes. I LOVE intervals. I used to love treadmill intervals in particular, but with my foot problems I still haven’t gotten back on the treadmill. I actually haven’t run at all since September 12, the day of my half-marathon stress fracture. It is feeling almost 100% and I am planning on trying to run for like 5-10 minutes on February 1. It started feeling great at the end of December, so I figured another month of non-impact cardio would only help it to get even better.

Anyway… since I haven’t been running I have had to get more creative with my elliptical and AMT workouts. Again, I love intervals, and I find that interval workouts are the only way my heart rate gets in the 75 – 85% range. So, I though I would share my favorite elliptical workout. I have two versions, one easier and one harder. I adjusted the easier workout when it got too easy for me – hence the harder version. Try them, get your butt kicked, and let me know how you like it :)

I use a Precor elliptical – either with the arms or without. I choose one of the crosstrain programs which changes heights, or if I’m at my parents’ house, their elliptical has a random program that also changes heights. You will be in charge of the resistance changes. Here they are in PDF for easy printing :)

Carly’s Butt KickingĀ EllipticalWorkout

Carly’s Butt KickingĀ EllipticalWorkoutHarder

I am bad at wordpress and couldn’t figure out how to change the name that appears above… I just left it as my document is saved :)

Do you prefer when I post fitness or food posts, or some of both?

Do you prefer interval workouts or long and steady workouts?

 

7 Responses to “Need a Good Cardio Workout?”

  1. Heather Says:

    My preference is the food posts – just because they’re amazing and I bookmark all your recipes!! :)

  2. Fallon Says:

    I like the mixture of food and fitness. I like to change up my workouts so when someone shares what they’ve been up too, it a good way to change things up!

    Back home I was taking up Krav Maga. And the warm-ups involved a ton of sprints with pushups, squats, bear crawls, spider crawls, etc. So keeping that up with sprints was the most intervals I ever did. I saw a huge difference with my body. On my own it isn’t so easy. I also can’t stand to do more then 30 minutes of cardio on the same machine. I usually just up the resistance up and down. I don’t really consider that intervals though.

    • carly71722 Says:

      I would definitely say changing the resistance is intervals as long as the high resistance intervals are raising your heart rate quite a bit and the lower resistance intervals are dropping your heart rate more to a recovery level! That Krav Maga sounds AWESOME!!!

  3. Mina Says:

    I’ve really been loving your fitnress posts but I also enjoy the food ones too, so I guess I like a mix :) As for intervals or long and steady it depends on if I’m inside or outside. At the gym, whether it’s the treadmill or the AMT I have to do intervals or I’ll go out of my mind. When I’m running outside though, long and steady.

    How was your trip?

  4. I love both food and fitness. A nice little balance of both Great meeting you last night too :)

  5. DiningAndDishing Says:

    I have to go with food!! To be honest, the food portion is my preference on any healthy living blog – more fun in my world!! :)

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.