So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos January 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 6:20 pm

My boss spoke of these burritos long before I ever got a chance to try them. I was very intrigued – I love sweet potatoes and black beans, and who doesn’t love a burrito?  So, when she made them for our department meeting I was super excited to finally try them. As expected, they did not disappoint and I naturally asked for the recipe. The recipe came from a Moosewood Cookbook, and is incredibly easy and delicious :)

Start out by baking two sweet potatoes at 425* for 1 hour. I always poke holes with a fork and bake the potatoes on foil so that they don’t drip in the oven.

While the potatoes are baking, get out the rest of the ingredients:

Chop your onion and garlic. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a medium to large skillet over high heat. Add the onion, garlic, and can of green chilies to the pan.

Stir frequently and saute until the onions soften. Add cumin, coriander, and cayenne.

Stir and cook for another minute.

Set the mixture aside until the potatoes are done roasting. When the potatoes are soft, remove from the oven and cut a slit in each one to cool quicker.

One the potatoes are cool enough to handle, remove the skins and add them to your food processor.

Add to the processor the onion mixture, lemon juice, cilantro, salt, and half of the beans.

Process for 45-60 seconds until fairly smooth.

Transfer the mixture to another bowl and add the remaining beans.

Stir the beans in!

Now, divide the filling among six flour tortillas (I like the La Tortilla Factory Whole Wheat High Fiber ones)

Fold up the bottom of the tortilla.

Fold in the right and left sides.

Then roll the bottom over.

Place into a greased (I used Pam) baking dish, fold side down.

Repeat with remaining burritos, placing them tightly in the pan.

Cover with foil and bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, remove from the oven and set it to broil. Sprinkle the cheese on top of the burritos and broil, uncovered, for 2-3 minutes.

Keep an eye on them, and remove when the cheese is melted, browned and bubbly!

Serve with vegetable of choice. I went with red pepper, green pepper, and red onion roasted with olive oil, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes and Awesome Antler Rub.

**Note: this is a small plate!  Joe ate 2 burritos, and I had one… which means awesome leftovers!**

Recipe…

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos

2 medium sweet potatoes (~20 oz total)
1 Tbsp. canola oil
1 large onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1- 4 oz can chopped green chilies
2 tsp. ground coriander
2 tsp. ground cumin
dash of cayenne
1 – 15 oz can black beans (or equivalent amount cooked from dry – which is what I did)
Handful of cilantro, chopped
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 tsp salt
6 flour tortillas
1/2 cup grated cheese (I used a Mexican blend)

1. Bake sweet potatoes for 1 hour at 425*. Let them cool until touchable. Remove and discard the peel. Reduce oven temperature to 350* and grease a 9×13 baking dish – set aside.
2. Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat. Add garlic, onion and chilies. Cook until the onion becomes translucent. Add spices and cook for another minute.
3. Add sweet potato, onion mixture, cilantro, lemon juice, salt, and half of the beans to a food processor. Blend until somewhat smooth (45 – 60 seconds). Stir in the rest of the beans.
4. Spoon sweet potato mixture evenly among the 6 tortillas. Roll the tortillas to form a burrito and place seam side down snugly into the prepared 9×13 pan and cover with foil. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and sprinkle the cheese evenly on the burritos. Broil, uncovered, until the cheese melts, browns, and bubbles.

 

What is your favorite type of cuisine? Mine is such a toss up!  I love Mediterranean, Indian, Thai… and many more!

What is your favorite bean? Have you always liked beans? I don’t have a favorite, but I didn’t start liking beans until about 3 years ago!

 

14 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos”

  1. Mina Says:

    Hi Carly, these look awesome! I can’t wait to try them. I actually roasted sweet potatoes tonight and had them alongside a black bean and brown rice concoction I made up. Sweet potatoes and black beans are so good together. I’ve always like beans and black beans are my favorite, followed closely by chick peas.

    Mina

  2. Fallon Says:

    This looks delicious! So different I can’t wait to try it. I have a butternut squash itching to be cooked up, I may use that instead of sweet potatoes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

  3. Kali Says:

    Thanks for giving me another dinner idea to add to my crazy person excel spreadsheet haha. Can’t wait to see you next week!

  4. These sound awesome! Can’t wait to try them.

  5. shortystylee Says:

    I didn’t really eat beans a lot (aside from green beans, if those even count!) until I started living on my own. So cheap and such a good source of protein :) Those burritos look yummy… maybe we can convince the Chipotles and Qdobas to start giving us more choices for when we don’t have time to make them ourselves!

    Jessica

    • carly71722 Says:

      I started using dried beans and everything because they are even cheaper! This week I got dried navy beans for $0.97, it was enough to make 3 cans worth – and less sodium. I agree that if Chipotle made better choices I would maybe actually eat there :)

  6. valgal123 Says:

    I love sweet potato and black beans, but when I combine them it just doesn’t do anything for me. These burritos look great! and I think I might try them despite my history with the combo.

  7. Yum, those burritos look tasty! I am a bean-lover myself! Kidney beans are my favorite, but I also love cannelinis and chickpeas. And black beans! All of ‘em.

  8. Those sound so tasty!! I’d love to make a batch and put them in my freezer for times when I’m really rushed!

  9. Becca Says:

    This recipe looks fantastic. I plan on making it tomorrow night, thanks so much!

    • carly71722 Says:

      Let me know how the come out :)

      • Becca Says:

        They turned out great! I took out the green chilies, just because I wanted my 1 year old to enjoy them as well. I made a green chile sauce for my husband and I to add ourselves. I think they are even better the next day heated up for lunch! :)

  10. clevelandwhiteout Says:

    Thank you for this recipe! I am making this for dinner tonight. I did kind of a deconstructed version and put all of the filling ingredients in my crockpot this morning before work. When I got home I filled my tortillas and now they are in the oven with the cheese topping. Can’t wait to try ‘em!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.