So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bark December 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 1:04 am

Why hello blog world!?!? I decided to resurrect my little blog due to an exciting recipe :) About a week or so ago I got an idea for this:

Last year I made this recipe from Jessica (the oreo one)… and it was amazing. About a week or so ago I was trying to brainstorm ideas for my Christmas baking and remembered that bark. Then I thought about cookie dough…. Then I decided that it would be delicious to marry the two – oreo bark minus the oreos plus the cookie dough! I let the idea marinate for about a week and then on Saturday night, late, I decided to make it happen. What a good/bad decision. Good for my taste buds, bad for my waistline. Oh well, it’s the holiday season :)

Yeah… that nugget you see is most definitely cookie dough!!!!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bark

Serves a lot! (or just me and my husband… over a few days)

Cookie Dough:
5 T butter, softenened
1/3 cup brown sugar
3 T sugar
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips
splash of milk – if needed

Cream the butter and sugars with a stand mixer. Add the vanilla and beat until combined. Add the salt and flour and mix again until combined. If the dough is too dry add a splash of milk and mix again. Fold in the chocolate chips. Line a baking sheet with wax paper. Break off little chunks of dough and place them on the prepared sheet. When all of the dough is chunked, pop the sheet tray in the freezer for about 15 min.

Bark:
20 oz. good quality semisweet chocolate, chips or chopped
20 oz. good quality white chocolate, chips or chopped
1 batch of cookie dough, frozen

Line a 11×15 (half sheet) pan with wax paper. Melt 10 oz of the bittersweet chocolate either in a double boiler or the microwave. I just used the microwave. Spread over wax paper and top the chocolate with all of the cookie dough. Place the sheet tray in the freezer for 5 min. While the first layer is firming up, melt 10 oz of the white chocolate. This is quite messy, but spread the white chocolate around and on the cookie dough. Seriously, both of my hands were covered with chocolate and I couldn’t care less. Place the sheet tray in the freezer for 5 min. Then, melt the remaining dark chocolate and spread as best you can over the dough and chocolate. Place the sheet tray in the freezer for 5 min. Then, melt the remaining white chocolate and spread it as best you can over the dough and chocolate. Freeze for at least 30 min. When, break off chunks of the bark and eat┬ásave them in a container. I stored mine in a gallon ziplock in the freezer, but I’m sure the refrigerator would work too. Enjoy!!!!!

 

3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bark”

  1. Mina Says:

    You’re back! I was so surprised to see you in my reader. As always, that recipe looks delicious.

    Mina

  2. Heather Says:

    OMG, HOW ARE YOUUUUUU???!!!
    Your recipes kill me every time. This looks amazing!

    • carly71722 Says:

      I’m great!!! I love AZ :) I just hate living in an apartment – which is why I don’t really post anymore. My tiny kitchen gives me no desire to bake!!! We *should* have a new house by the end of the month provided everything goes smooth as we close! How are YOU???? I’m so proud of you and the NYC marathon :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.