So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

First Time – Oats in a Jar January 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 3:11 pm

I’ve been dying to try oats in a jar ever since I started reading food blogs. Well, yesterday my Barney Butter jar was verging on empty (my PB jar is there as well) so today was the perfect day to put some oats in there 🙂 Here’s what I came up with:
Stovetop –
1/3 cup oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond breeze, 1/2 cup water
1 Tbsp flax meal
Cinnamon, Vanilla Extract
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (makes them so fluffy!) – stirred in at the end
Toppings –
1/2 Tbsp coconut
1/2 Tbsp strawberry jam
1 rounded Tbsp toasted slivered almonds
Remaining Barney Butter from the jar

Jar:

Inside the Jar:

SOOOOOO delicious, and the perfect breakfast after a great workout. I love having weekdays off work so I can workout in the morning. Yay MLK Day! (and not just because I have school off – he also did a lot for the people of this country).

Post later today with a tutorial on the PERFECT chocolate chip cookies! I made two batches this weekend with slight changes. My husband is taste testing them at work for me today!

 

2 Responses to “First Time – Oats in a Jar”

  1. Mina Says:

    Do you just serve them in the jar? What kind of oats do you use, steel cut, old fashoined or quick ?Sounds like something Kyla would get such a kick out of. Our PB jar is just about empty….

    Mina

    • carly71722 Says:

      Yup! I just serve them in the jar 🙂 It is a fun way to use up the PB residue that would just go to waste. I use old fashioned that I cook stove top using a combination of almond milk and water. I won’t use instant after trying the stovetop method! Sorry it took so long to reply. I just saw that you had left a comment.


Leave a Reply

