So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

TWD – Cocoa-Nana Bread January 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 9:43 pm

I definitely stepped out of my comfort zone with this one. I know, chocolate banana bread out of someone’s comfort zone!?!? It wasn’t the quickbread part, it was the BANANA part. I HATE bananas!  My husband has asked me several times to make him banana bread, but I always so no because I can’t even stand the smell. But, it was about time that I just bit the bullet and mashed some banana’s – while pinching my nose of course 🙂 Here is a shot of the mashed nanas. I used a potato masher and it worked fantastically.

Here are a couple of shots of the batter being made. And as Dorie mentioned, it definitely looked curdled. No worries!

And then I ruined the dough (aka I added the banana’s). One of my favorite parts of baking is tasting the dough… definitely didn’t on this one. I’m sure if you like bananas it would be delish.

Now it looks all chocolately. I was dying to taste the dough by the looks of it!

In the pan and ready to bake! (chocolate chip folding in was done prior)

Out of the oven, and sliced!

My taste testers loved it. I guess I’ll never know 😉

According to the husband, I should make this loaf into muffins next time. I guess if I EVER get a chance to open my dream bakery I will have to sell banana muffins. All in all, I’m proud of myself for facing this challenge.

Next up…. Daring Bakers Reveal!
I will be skipping the next TWD week because I can’t find a mini bundt pan!!!!  I’ll be making some cupcakes and cookies instead!

Question: Does anyone else hate bananas??? Or am I the only one!!!

 

5 Responses to “TWD – Cocoa-Nana Bread”

  1. tianne Says:

    wow, love the deep dark chocoloate color on yours.

  2. teaandscones Says:

    Good for you to bake with something you don’t like. It looks delicious.

  3. Mary Says:

    I don’t like the texture of bananas, but I force myself to eat them very thinly sliced on cereal or in a peanut butter sandwich occasionally. I LOVE banana bread before and after baking!

    p.s. I have no mini bundt tins either, but used small ramekins instead. Use dark chocolate if you make them:)

  4. I HATE plain bananas, but love them in and on things. or doctored up with peanut butter 🙂

    Beautiful loaf! I want to make this soon! 🙂

    • carly71722 Says:

      Thanks for your reply! According to my husband, you should definitely make it 🙂 I tried the batter thinking that maybe masked with some chocolate the banana could be tolerable – NOPE!!! Oh well!


Leave a Reply

