So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Weekend Baking – Cookies and Cupcakes January 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 11:20 pm

This is going to be short and sweet! I didn’t get to snap many photos while I was baking this weekend, so I mostly have finished results. On Saturday I made Black and White Cookies – chocolate cookies with white chocolate chunks. I also added some toasted pecans to the batter as well. I used the recipe for Double Chocolate Chip Cookies from The Sweeter Side of Amy’s Bread with the changes above. This was the first time that I weighed out my ingredients instead of just measuring, and the results were great. I really need to get in the habit of doing this with all recipes. It just takes a little longer, but definitely more consistent cookies. I also decided not to make mine as huge (90 g) and went with my standard of 65 g. They still came out very large and I can’t imagine the cookies 1.5 times as big! Β Here are the finished cookies πŸ™‚ All three reviewers (my family) loved them!

Today I made some Red Velvet Cupcakes that I got from Joy of Baking. I frosted them with the cinnamon cream cheese frosting – but added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I’m not a huge frosting person – unless it is cream cheese frosting. I definitely taste tested more than my fair share in the process. Very delicious πŸ™‚ I tried to pipe the frosting and it looked awful, so I ended up grabbing my icing spatula and smoothed it out. Then sprinkled on a little red sugar. This is reinforcing the idea that I need to get my butt into a cake decorating class. Cookies are definitely my strong side of baking, but I need to learn cupcakes if I truly want a baking business.

Here is the gorgeous red batter in the mixer:

In the cupcake tin:

Baked:

Frosted – what an ugly job… I hope they taste good enough to make up for it!

Please don’t judge πŸ˜‰ I really do need some help on the buttercream technique. Maybe I should make some kind of coconut cupcakes next time so I can just roll the ugly top in some coconut to cover it up!

Not sure what’s up for next weekend – perhaps some more cupcakes? Β I won’t give up until I’m good at them! Definitely the TWD baking though, which is Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia. How I love brownies πŸ™‚ and Julia Child too! Who knows, it will be hard to have a weekend with no cookies.

 

3 Responses to “Weekend Baking – Cookies and Cupcakes”

  1. Heather Says:

    omg… looks so good. No coconut though. Coconut is evil. Tastes like straw. yuch. The Black and White ones look divine.

  2. Ashley Says:

    Was the icing too thing when you went to pipe it? Try sticking it in the fridge for a bit!

    • carly71722 Says:

      No! It was super thick… I just don’t have the skills yet πŸ™‚ My husband and I are taking a class in two weeks that I won from Heinen’s. He is really good at decorating (since he went to culinary school and had to learn all that stuff), so he is coming to help me learn!


Leave a Reply

