So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Pi Day, Brother’s Birthday, Gluten-Free Cake March 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 12:44 pm

So, this week was an exciting week. My brother turned 30 on Wednesday, so I baked him some brownie bites. He lives in Arizona, and my parents happen to be going there this week, so they are taking some along. I made the buckeye brownies again, but I ran out of buckeye filling halfway through, so I quickly threw together some eggless cookie dough and made cookie dough brownie bites too! ย Both are quite delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

If you are any kind of a math person, you may be aware that today is Pi Day (3.14 = March 14th). Since I teach math, we celebrated on Friday with some circle activities, a pi memorization contest, and most importantly pie EATING ๐Ÿ™‚ I made an apple pie with a streusel topping. I pretty much followed the same filling and streusel recipe as I did for the cheesecake bars, but tripled the filling and doubled the streusel. I used my “go-to” pie crust recipe to start with. The recipe for the crust will be at the end of the post.ย While the dough chilled I made the filling and streusel. Here are pics of all of the parts waiting to be assembled

Filling in the crust:

Streusel on top, ready to bake:

Baked – the kids said it was really good and that they liked the streusel. I like streusel for apple pie better than a top crust as well. The top looks overdone in the pic, but it wasn’t. I think the lighting was bad.

Ok, two big things happened for me personally this week as well. #1, I GOT INTO THE FARMERS MARKET!!! I applied to sell my baked goods about a month and a half ago and have been waiting impatiently ever since. I got a call on Thursday, and I will have a booth every week this summer at the Geauga Farmers Market on 306 at Bell Rd. in South Russell. I mentioned that I’m working on Gluten-Free bakery items, and they loved that. So, here is my gluten-free cinnamon bundt cake. The recipe comes from the Gluten-Free Homemaker. It came out quite tasty. I’ll get an honest review tomorrow when I bring some to school. One of my school’s guidance counselors is gluten-free and more than willing to be a taste tester for me! Here are some pics of the process:

Ready to Bake!

Baked in Pan:

It came out of the pan PERFECTLY!

Glazed and Sliced:

What I tasted was pretty darn good. I can’t wait to experiment more. I have contacted some GF bloggers for advice on their favorite recipes/substitutions, etc.

Ok… Good news #2:
My friend Maria and I have officially signed up as The Sweet Tooth Girls to run the Gore-Tex TransRockies Run. Yes, we are crazy, I understand. It is a 113 mile ultra race that takes place over 6 days out in Colorado in August. This summer will definitely be filled with crazy training and excessive baking. Two things that go well together for a balanced lifestyle ๐Ÿ™‚

Onto the pie crust recipe…
3 cups flour
1 1/2 cups shortening
1 tsp salt
1 egg
1 tsp white vinegar
5 Tbsp milk

Using a pastry blender, mix the flour, shortening and salt together until it resembles a coarse meal. ย In a separate bowl or measuring cup, mix the egg, vinegar, and milk. Add to the dry mixture and stir until combined. Chill dough for at least 30 minutes. Use a LOT of flour on the rolling pin and surface, the dough is a little sticky. This makes about 3 bottom crusts worth. For this recipe I made a half batch (for half the egg, ย use 1 1/2 Tbsp of beaten egg) and got a 9 inch crust with a bit left over. Probably enough for a top crust if I didn’t do streusel. This is a really flaky crust, good taste and texture.

Final though/question: Any crazy things coming up in your life this summer????

Thanks for reading! Next week… TWD and something else I’m sure, just don’t know what yet ๐Ÿ™‚

 

8 Responses to “Pi Day, Brother’s Birthday, Gluten-Free Cake”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Girl. That is AWESOME. I don’t think my feet will be ready by then otherwise I might just join you. I have a GF blog that I love and the girl is super sweet. She pretty much only blogs baked goods, so you might find it helpful =) http://thecinnamonquill.com/blog/ Reading about the race REALLY makes me want to do it….but that is actually SO soon!! Maybe next year!

    • carly71722 Says:

      Thanks Ashley! My friend mentioned the race to me and I thought it seemed crazy. But my husband pushed/motivated me to do it ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the link! It’s definitely going to be useful this summer!

  2. Sarah Says:

    Kudo’s on making pie on Pi day!! I was thinking of doing the same. And congrats on getting into the Farmers market!! It you food is as good as it looks you’ll make a killing.
    Love the blog!

  3. Linda Says:

    That pie looks amazing! I’m so glad you like the bundt cake. I was considering selling baked goods at the farmer’s market, but just haven’t given it enough thought yet. It’s definitely time to think about it though. I hope it goes well for you.

    • carly71722 Says:

      Thanks Linda! I am a teacher, so a summer job is a must (to eliminate boredom since I have yet to have kids). This is perfect because I will enjoy it SO much and hopefully build a business on the side during the off season ๐Ÿ™‚

      On the bundt cake… everyone at my husband’s work really liked it and couldn’t believe it was Gluten-Free. My colleague that is gluten-free loved it as well. She did suggest adding some nuts because she’ll notice her blood sugar spike if there isn’t protein in her baked goods since the GF flours are lower protein.

  4. It’s gluten free, that’s awesome. thanks

  5. judith Says:

    Ha my attempt didnt quite match up but still tasted lovely.


Leave a Reply

