So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Eats and Sweets – Week of March 15 March 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 2:11 pm

This has been a busy and hectic week!!!  It was just one of those weeks that flew by because I had no free time!  The good news… I only have ONE more week of work until Spring Break!  I’m not going anywhere or anything, but just a week break will do me good. I plan on working on LOTS of recipes for the farmers market 🙂 So, food… where do I begin… I’ll start with Tuesday night dinner. I made some Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers. They were green peppers stuffed with whole wheat couscous, feta, tomatoes, turkey sausage, spinach, mushrooms, pinenuts, onion, garlic, olives, lots of herbs. This was the first time I have ever made stuffed peppers, and they were soooo delicious! Here they are filled before baking, and then baked.

Something else new that I tried this week was homemade almond butter. I spend far too much money on nut butters for how fast Joe and I consume them. So… I started off by roasting some cinnamon almonds using this recipe. The only change was instead of using water with the egg white, I used vanilla extract. I made these on Thursday, and then on Friday I decided to make almond butter with them. Lots of food processing later (plus a little maple syrup and canola oil), I ended up with some AMAZING cinnamon almond butter. Its like dessert. And one of my favorite “healthy” desserts that gets me through the week is toast with some nut butter on top. I’m sure I will consume a lot of these this week, especially after the massive cookie splurge I enjoyed this weekend. Here is the finished almond butter:

Onto the baking… this week two of my classes earned baked goods for completing their assignments. So, that meant making TWO things for them this weekend 🙂 I chose Chubby Hubby Bars from Cake, Batter, and Bowl and a modification on my great-grandma’s orange cookies. Here are the Chubby Hubbies:

all pretty in the pan… and then I had MAJOR issues removing them with the parchment – it ripped. I ended up with lots of cracked bars. So, I just trimmed the cracked areas which left lots of uneven bites for the husband. Oh darn, he was quite disappointed 😉 Here they are sliced:

Finally, the orange cookies… Sorry I can’t share the recipe – its been passes down through my family and I hold it dear to my heart. I did make some changes though… It calls for shortening, and I much prefer butter. Also, we usually glaze them, but I decided to fill them with orange cream cheese frosting and sandwich them instead. I can’t control myself around cream cheese frosting, so needless to say I’m sitting here right now with a stomach ache and a sugar overdose – well worth every bite!

I started off by getting all my ingredients ready – butter and sugar, dry ingredients, eggs, and a mixture of fresh orange juice, milk, and grated orange rind:

Orange rind (grated first to make easier orange squeezing!):

Juice:

Both mixed with milk:

Here is the finished batter.

I used a 1 1/2 Tbsp cookie scoop to get perfect cookies. Here is the dough on the pan and the finished product:

I made the frosting and used a pastry bag to pipe onto one cookie, then topped it with another.

Sorry the last pic is a little blurry. I didn’t realize until I already uploaded. I will share the recipe for my filling.

Orange Cream Cheese Frosting:
8 oz. cream cheese, softenened
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest of one orange
juice squeezed from half an orange

Beat all ingredients with a mixer until smooth. Taste for a quality control check. Frost cookies/cake/cupcakes

Other excitement of the weekend – we are getting a second dog in about a week/week and a half!!  She is Sawyers 1/2 sister, so another Westie. Joe and I met her on Friday, and decided to name her Molly. Here she is!

Also, I ran 8.41 miles today in 1:11:46!!! (8:32 min/mile). I was REALLY proud of myself because I added in some good inclines and still averaged the same pace as I did last week. Half marathon, here I come 🙂 I must say, running outside is SO much easier than the treadmill. The miles just fly by because I’m not bored.

On deck for next weekend… TWD (a coconut bundt cake – yum), not sure what else yet because that’s just the START of break and I plan on baking daily over break.

Any suggestions for what I should bake???? Any other readers training for either the Cleveland 1/2 or full marthon in May?

 

One Response to “Eats and Sweets – Week of March 15”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Wow. These are some awesome eats. I LOVE stuffed peppers. Your secret family cookies look completely amazing. I can almost taste it!! I love that they look pillowy soft…mmm The bars look ridiculous as does the almond butter. yummaaaay


Leave a Reply

