So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

TWD – Coconut Tea Cake + Take a Hike Cookies March 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 11:31 am

So, I did my TWD baking over the weekend. I had a stressful day on Saturday, and nothing cures my stress better than exercise and/or baking. Since I had already been to the gym in the morning I decided baking was the way to go. I stuck with Dorie’s original recipe, opting to toast the coconut and include the rum. I just LOVE the flavor of toasted coconut over plain. Here is some toasted coconut – which is probably more than the recipe called for since I knew snacking on it was bound to happen 😉

Here is everything else ready to go!

Rum – delicious!

Dry Ingredients

Coconut milk and butter

All mixed up and in the bundt (Nordic Ware 10-15 cup – best investment ever!)

Baked – in and out of the pan

Then I decided it needed a rum glaze – I whipped one up using some malibu coconut rum, meyer’s dark, a little milk, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. Here is the finished product in cake form and sliced:

I was heading out to visit Joe at work that night, so I cut the cake into 24 small pieces so that there was enough to go around. People loved the cake!  Thanks Dorie 🙂

I also spent yesterday working on another cookie that I plan to offer weekly at the farmers market. My “Take a Hike” cookies. They are designed to be like a trail mix cookie. The cookies are a peanut butter cookie base with oats, almonds, peanuts, chocolate chips, raisins, and dried cranberries. SOOOOO yummy!!!

This was round #2 of making them. I definitely think that I worked out all the kinks from round #1 and I have a winner!

Final news of the day – the pups are still adjusting well to each other! Sawyer gets a little jealous when Molly is up on my lap, but other than that I think they are doing well.

Here the are on Joe’s lap together.

Thanks for reading!  Expect a lot more throughout the week.

Leave a comment if there is something you would like to see me make!

 

4 Responses to “TWD – Coconut Tea Cake + Take a Hike Cookies”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Those doggies are way to cute! Your cake looks so good and the cookies too! Can you share your cookie recipe?

  2. Ashley Says:

    Ohhh my goodness!!!! That cake looks + sounds amazing. I love bundt pan cakes. The cookies sound incredible too…Love the mix-ins you used and that you started with a PB cookie..mmmmm

  3. Heatha Says:

    I love that you belong to Tuesdays with Dorie. I try to read their blog every week, as I own the book, but don’t think I’d have enough time to consider joining. Guess I’ll just live through you right now! The bundt cake looks great!


Leave a Reply

