So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

TWD – Chockablock Cookies April 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 6:00 pm

I’ve been brainstorming since this recipe was chosen which mix-ins I wanted to use. I wanted to try something a little different, but not so far off the beaten path that it would be strange. I also wanted to try to use some ingredients I already had in house. What I decided to mix in was cashews (different), craisins (normal), chocolate chips (normal), and coconut (normal). So, not so different really. But, its hard for me to want to purchase ingredients for ONE recipe. Either way, these were quite tasty. I loved how the molasses really came through in both the dough and the finished cookies. I brought them to work on Monday along with the cinnamon roll sugar cookies for a meeting. The other teachers in the meeting weren’t from my school, so they had never tasted my confections before. Needless to say, the each went back for seconds, thirds, fourths, etc. I definitely got some followers 🙂 Hopefully this leads to orders this summer!!! Anyway, onto the pics 🙂 Oh, and I actually just halved the recipe.

Mixed dough – check out those chunks!

All scooped out on my Silpat – which if you don’t have already, you NEED to invest in!

Baked:

Cooling – I meant to take a more fun one than on the rack, but I forgot and they have since gotten consumed.

I liked how these weren’t overly sweet, had a nice combination of flavors, a little crunch, didn’t taste like they were completely awful for you 😉

Right now I have the homemade chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream in the freezer and in the next two days I will be making s’mores ice cream. Post and recipes to come!  Happy Tuesday, all!

 

6 Responses to “TWD – Chockablock Cookies”

  1. Dear Carley,

    Thank You for entering the Bake Up Summer Sweets Contest. I hope you are given the opportunity to own a new KitchenAid mixer so you can whip up your cherry pierecipe with ease.
    Thank You and Good Luck!
    The Beso Team
    http://www.beso.com/style-director-contest/bake-up-summer-sweets

  2. Heather Says:

    Homemade chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream? How is that still in the freezer?? Ours would be devoured by now!! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the smore’s ice cream – great idea!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    Love your blog! Everything looks delicious. I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes!!


Leave a Reply

