So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Meals, Market, and More June 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 5:15 pm

So, I decided to take a few pictures this past week of different things that I like to eat 🙂 I post a lot of treats and random recipes, but I never include some of my regular eats.

Typical breakfasts for me would be one of the following:
1. Breakfast bar with nut butter and fruit (grapes, apples – jazz or pink lady)


2. Stove top oatmeal made with vanilla almond breeze and usually has some nuts, jam, nut butter, coconut, dried fruit. I start with a mixture of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli and Quaker Rolled Oats

This bowl had some new nut butter mixed in – homemade coconut rum almond butter 🙂 YUM!

I soaked some coconut in dark rum, toasted it with my almonds, and then processed it all with some malibu coconut rum, salt, and coconut oil (I think that was all!)

3. Greek yogurt with berries and granola (this is from MixMyGranola). This pic is actually from lunch the other day – hence the addition of PB toast, but I had the exact same for bfast this morning!

For lunch I usually have leftovers from dinner – which is completely all over the board!  But my go to when I have no leftovers is a salad, crackers with turkey and raw veggies, a turkey wrap with raw veggies, etc. I REALLY aim to get a good serving or two of veggies in with lunch everyday!

My dinners are all over the board!  I make a menu each week that includes a variety of ethnicities, meats, veggies, etc. In the winter I LOVE LOVE LOVE soup 🙂 I don’t really like to follow recipes. I use them for inspiration, but I don’t really measure anything. My “lazy” meal is some kind of meat (usually chicken or tilapia) with a whole grain starch or sweet potato (couscous, brown rice, quinoa, bulgur) and roasted vegetables with olive oil, salt and pepper (broccoli, peppers, onion, asparagus, green beans, brussels sprouts, kale, sauteed spinach – to name a few regulars) or we grill veggies in the summer  with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar (zucchini, squash, mushrooms, eggplant). I love the make up my own pastas 🙂 Here is one from recently:

This was whole wheat shells. For the rest I started off with a little olive oil and pre-made pesto. I added some sliced garlic and turkey sausage (1 link of Jennie-O spicy), then I added about 3/4 of an onion, sliced, 1/2 a pack of crimini mushrooms sliced, broccoli, some chicken stock and red wine. After a bit I added in some jarred roasted red peppers, cannellini beans, and spinach. Then I added the pasta and served in bowls topped with a little shredded mozzarella and parmesan (I LOVE parmesan!). My rule of thumb with pasta… decrease the amount of pasta and bulk up the dish with lots of vegetables. For two of us I used about 2 1/2 ounces of pasta and TONS of veggies (I don’t measure those).

I eat a bunch of snacks too. I aim for healthy (nuts, fruit, veggies with hummus), but lately I’ve been a little indulgent. I am trying to keep that in check though!

Another interesting thing that I have done recently is to make hummus starting with dried beans!  I love making my own hummus because I can make the flavor anything I want, but I had never tried with dried beans. It is SO easy!  Here is a little look at how it goes….

1. Soak the beans overnight (pick out any stones or off colored beans) – I used about 3/4 cup (actually 135 grams).

Here is a comparison in size of the beans before and after soaking

2. After soaking overnight, rinse the beans thoroughly!  Then, boil water and beans in a medium saucepan (2-3 cups water per cup of beans). I used about 2 1/4 cups. Once the water boils, reduce the heat to a simmer and cover the pot for about 1- 1 1/2 hours – mine took about 1 1/4 hrs. Just check the texture to make sure it is what you are looking for.

When finished, drain the beans and rinse again – they are DONE and ready to become hummus 🙂

For this hummus I used Ashley’s Curry Honey Hummus as inspiration. I started with my standard hummus base and followed her additional add in amounts. I did actually measure this out 🙂

Finished product – in the food processor and in my turkey sandwich (the one I posted above). The sandwich has has hummus, feta, turkey, and romaine.

Hummus Base:
15 oz garbanzo beans (or start with 135 g dry)
2 Tbsp tahini
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves
Lemon juice from 1/2 of a lemon
1/2 tsp to 1 tsp cumin (depending on the hummus flavor)
Water as needed to get the texture right

I never stick to this plain recipe as I like to flavor mine (curry honey, chipotle, grilled scallion, lemon, etc), but I start with this basic combo in the food processor and add extras to it.

I’ll finish up this post with some fun farmers market stuff.

1. Joe made an awesome mini free-form loaves of herb focaccia to sell this week. People LOVED it! The first thing to sell out this week 🙂

I also picked up these GORGEOUS fresh picked strawberries. The vendor actually sold out, so someone on his farm picked more and brought them out about halfway into the market.

AND… the awesome people at Beecology left me some products to try!!!  Their stuff rocks and I highly recommend you either ordering from their site, or stopping at the farmers market to pick up some products. Of course I prefer the latter because then you can come to my stand too!

This was a long one!  But I definitely needed some updating 🙂 I’m officially on summer break, so look forward to more frequent posts.

What hummus flavor should I make next!?!? I can’t wait to use those dried beans again 🙂

Also, I’m looking for another half marathon for the fall…. which one?
River Run – September 12
Akron 1/2 Marathon – September 25

Thanks for reading!!!!

 

One Response to “Meals, Market, and More”

  1. Heather Says:

    I’ve never made hummus with dried beans either. I’ll have to give it a try!!

    My vote is for the River Run!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

