So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Carrot Cake Cookies August 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 6:31 pm

Carrot cake is one of my favorite desserts. I attribute this to the mix of spices (I am slightly obsessed with cinnamon), the various textures, and without a doubt the cream cheese frosting. Recently I saw some carrot cake cupcakes with buttercream frosting… seriously? That’s almost a sin.

When I bought the Martha Stewart Cookies cookbook, her carrot cake cookies on page 202 jumped at me. Two carrot cake  oatmeal cookies with tangy cream cheese frosting sandwiched between them… COUNT ME IN!!! I actually made these a few months ago and didn’t blog about them, so naturally the next time around I took pictures because this recipe just has to be shared. I started with Martha’s basic recipe and then made a few changes. She used WAY too much sugar, so I referred back to the proportions in my favorite oatmeal raisin cookies for inspiration. Also, she left out two of my favorite carrot cake ingredients – coconut and walnuts! I love pineapple in there too, but I didn’t want the cookies to be too liquidy and spread too much. Also, instead of just plain cream cheese frosting, I opted for cinnamon cream cheese frosting – why not?

I’m going to walk through the steps of making the cookies and the recipe will follow 🙂

1. Start by getting all of your ingredients ready and measured. Trust me, you don’t want to be grating carrots while you are mixing. FYI – no need to preheat the oven because the dough needs to chill for an hour.

2. Cream together the butter and sugars.

3. Add in the eggs and vanilla and beat until well combined and fluffy.

4. Add in the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger). And mix until just combined.

5. Add in the oats, carrots, raisins, coconut, and walnuts and stir until just combined.

6. The dough is done!  Chill it in the refrigerator for at least an hour.

7. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees about 10-15 minutes before you are ready to scoop the dough.

8. Using a 1.5 Tbsp cookie scoop (#40), scoop level scoops of dough onto a lined pan (parchment or silpat). I fit 12 on a 12 by 17 pan.


9. Bake for about 12 to 15 minutes. Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for about 7 minutes and then transfer them to wire rack to cool completely.

10. When the cookies are cooled, match them up in pairs that about of like size. Take one cookie and spread the cream cheese frosting on the flat side using a small spatula or a butter knife. Top the frosting with the flat side of the matching cookie. Consume immediately, but store leftovers in the fridge. I like them best when the chill is let off a little, but cold is good too. Just make sure because of the cream cheese that they are stored in the fridge.




Seriously amazing cookies!  Here’s the recipe (ingredient list rather, follow the instructions through the post 😉 ).

Carrot Cake Cookies (makes about 22 sandwiches or 44 cookies)
1 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
2 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups grated carrots (about 3 large carrots)
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut
1/2 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup butter, softened
3 1/3 cups powdered sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp (rounded) cinnamon

1. Beat cream cheese in the bowl of an electric mixer using the paddle attachment. Add in the butter and mix until thoroughly combined.
2. Add in the powdered sugar. Use the stir setting at first to avoid powdered sugar flying everywhere, and then increase the speed until well combined. Stir in the vanilla and cinnamon.
3. Use immediately, or store in the refrigerator.

Share your favorite cake flavor! I happen to like the cake better than the frosting (except cream cheese frosting), so I’m looking for more fun sandwich cookies to make to mimic cakes!

Anyone else excited for fall? I love the smell, the pumpkins, the spices…. CAN’T WAIT!!!

 

9 Responses to “Carrot Cake Cookies”

  1. Mina Says:

    Hey Carly! I love boston cream pie (or pretty much anything with pastry cream:) I’m picturing the cookie right now. Pastry cream in the middle, ganache on top……mmmmmm

  2. Heather Says:

    OMG, I’m totally making these this weekend – YUM.
    I’ll let you know if I do!

  3. Oh my golly those look divine! I’ll have to work my magic and make them gluten free! Book marking this puppies! And I love the way you sandwiched them into little gobs 🙂

  4. biz319 Says:

    My step-son loves all things cinnamon, and he loves carrot cake – only one problem – he doesn’t like “stuff” in his carrot cake – no nuts, raisins, etc.!

    So my go to cake recipe for him is so not healthy, but so delicious. I’ve made this cake for him the last 10 years – but now he’s about to be 21 and he moved to Texas – I may have to make this for his Dad’s birthday so I get my carrot cake jones filled!

    http://biz319.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/happy-birthday-jody/

  5. Felisha Wild Says:

    Anytime that you can get veggies into desserts I’m so there. Looks like a delicious recipe and I love the article and pictures. So when are you coming over to make them? 😉

    Well done,

    Chef Felisha Wild

  6. […] I also made pumpkin sandwich cookies, or whoopies, (sorry for the blurry picture) from this recipe – thanks Elina, and I used the cinnamon cream cheese frosting recipe that I used for my carrot cake cookies from here. […]


Leave a Reply

