So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Bananas Foster Bread October 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 7:32 am

Last week I spotted some pretty nasty looking bananas on my counter. Speckled beyond belief, and perfect for baking with! Sometimes I wonder if Joe purposely leaves bananas laying around like that in hopes that I’ll bake HIM a special treat that he doesn’t have to share due to my serious hatred for bananas. I used to REALLY hate even baking with them because I can’t handle the smell even, but now I actually like baking with them for 2 reasons. Reason #1 – it makes Joe very happy. Reason #2 – when I feel it in my booty that I have eaten way too much dessert, its a great way to feed my baking needs and not worry about eating it all. Anyway… it was almost fate that on the same day I spotted the bananas the latest edition of Cooking Light arrived with a lovely Peanut Butter Banana Bread on the cover. This was a slight disappointment, since last time I had made Joe banana bread it was of the peanut butter variety. So, I flipped to the recipe and found 3 MORE recipes – one being Bananas Foster Bread. Bananas, rum, brown sugar, sounded like it would be good for a banana lover 🙂 I usually mess around with recipes and change them, but since I couldn’t sample to check my work I stuck with this exact recipe. I opted to go with rum instead of cognac because it was what I already had in my house.

As always, I got out all of my ingredients and measured them out.

Combined my dry ingredients (1 1/2 cups flour, 1/4 cup flax meal, 3/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp allspice)

The recipe called for melted butter, but then I was supposed to put it in a non-stick skillet…. So, I just melted the butter in the skillet and then added in 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3 Tbsp dark rum, and 1 1/2 cups (3 bananas) mashed.

Melting the butter…

Melted…

Adding in the rest…

Stir until the mixture starts to bubble, then remove it from the heat and let cool. I just poured it right into my mixing bowl to cool.


Once cool, add in 1/3 cup plain yogurt (I used greek because its what I had), 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 2 eggs. Then mix until combined

Mixed

Add in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

Then, pour the batter into a loaf pan (9 inch) sprayed with cooking spray and bake at 350* for about an hour – until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let it cool for about 10 minutes, and then flip the loaf onto a cooling rack. I flip it out, then flip it back right side up to cool.

I debated not making the glaze, but Joe asked that I did. Good thing, because he later commented that it MADE the bread 🙂

Combine 1 Tbsp melted butter, 1 Tbsp dark rum (or cognac), and 1/3 cup powdered sugar.

Then, drizzle over the loaf.

Joe really liked this bread. In addition the the previous comment, he added that he liked it best heated (in the microwave) with a little butter on top. Doesn’t butter just make everything better!?!?

I would post the recipe in standard form, instead of scattered, but I put in the link to Cooking Light at the top to follow 🙂

Are there any ingredients that you find difficult to bake/cook with simply because you don’t like them??

 

8 Responses to “Bananas Foster Bread”

  1. LEMON!!!! I’m not sure I’ve ever created a recipe that called for lemon — or if I did I’m sure I omitted it 😛

  2. Heather Says:

    I can’t believe you don’t like the smell of bananas! 🙂
    And Curry is my nemesis! It totally makes me cringe………

    • Fallon Says:

      MMM Nice variation on banana bread. Cooking light has some great recipes.

      I still don’t like to work with yeast. I guess I need to get over that fear because I’d love to make some fresh homemade bread!

  3. Mina Says:

    This looks SO yummy! And it’s not just one ingredient that scares me when it ocmes to baking – it’s just baking in general, but I am getting better. I need to just keep trying different things.

    And it was nice seeing you this morning 🙂

  4. brad Says:

    Wow did this post make my crave some banana bread!!! Love the pics to go along with the post!


Leave a Reply

