So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

TWD – Peanuttiest Blondies November 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 5:58 pm

One of the things that I missed the most when doing the farmers market this summer was trying new recipes. I came to find that my customers expected to find their same favorite every week and were disappointed if I didn’t make it and tried something new. I really missed participating in Tuesday’s With Dorie also. When I joined the group earlier this year I was forced to try making some recipes that I never would have attempted otherwise. This really challenged me as a baker and helped me to find some new things that I really enjoyed.

My parents are going to Arizona this week to visit my brother and sister in-law and my niece. It was my brother’s request that I send something chocolate and peanut butter. I scrolled over to TWD after not stopping by in a while to find that this weeks recipe was Peanuttiest Blondies. It couldn’t have been a more perfect week for me to return to the group! Needless to say, this recipe fit the bill completely.

I started off by mixing the peanut butter and butter together.

Then both white and brown sugar added. Mix until creamed and well combined.

Then I added in the eggs one at a time, mixing for about a minute between each addition.

Same with the vanilla. I have really come to LOVE Nielsen-Massey Bourbon Vanilla 🙂

Next, add in flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. I dropped the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp instead of a 1/2 tsp. Next time I would cut the cinnamon out completely. Mix until it just comes together.

Then add in the chocolate chips (Callebaut semisweet are my fav) and the chopped peanuts. Mix for just a few seconds or by hand.

Dorie says to spread the thick mixture into a pan lined with foil and buttered. I used parchment and Pam – it worked perfectly 🙂

Bake for 40-50 min. Mine only took 40.

Try as hard as possible not to dig in when still hot…. Joe and I ended up with slightly burnt tongues, but they were OH SO GOOD! If you can wait, chill them before cutting to get nice smooth sides.

Joe and I both agreed that they taste like thick, chewy peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. YUMMMMMM! I just hope the fam likes them as much as we do! If you want the recipe you can find it here on Bakeology

Next on the agenda – Brown Eyed Baker’s Salted Caramel Brownies. This was another request by my brother and I will be making them tomorrow!

Do you prefer to make new recipes, or make tried and true recipes? I like both… but there is something exciting to me about trying something new!

 

5 Responses to “TWD – Peanuttiest Blondies”

  1. Mina Says:

    Those look amazing! I like to try new recipes but during the school year, it’s much easier to just stick with the old reliables. It’s getting bad though, Kyla is starting to know what we’re having for dinner based on what day it is. I need to mix things up.

    Mina

  2. Fallon Says:

    I’m always trying something new when it comes to baking, but if I’m cooking then most of the time it is a tried and true recipe.

  3. Heather Says:

    Oooooooooohhh, awesome! I’m always looking for something new to bake – maybe I’ll make these next week! I was just telling Jay the other day that I don’t have that ONE recipe that I’m known for. The one I take to all get togethers……..still looking…… 🙂


Leave a Reply

