So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

Sausage Spinach Soup November 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 8:06 pm

Soup season is upon us ๐Ÿ™‚ I make at least one soup a week (with plenty of lunch leftovers) during the fall and winter. While many find comfort in cheesy, creamy casseroles, I find soup to be my ultimate comfort food. Lucky for me there are a TON of super healthy, veggie packed soups. One of mine and Joe’s favorites is this Sausage Spinach Soup from Cooking Light. As with most food recipes, I don’t follow the directions or measure anything, but I use it as a guide and taste test to get my final result. What I love about this soup is the spice of the turkey sausage coupled with superfoods like beans and spinach. YUM!

Here is what I started with – I used 12 oz of SPICY turkey sausage (10 oz would be 2 1/2 sausages… seriously?!?!), a full quart of chicken stock and no water, 19 oz of cannellini beans, diced tomatoes (I like them better than stewed), and dry spices.

Start with a large, heated stockpot sprayed with cooking spray. Add in the sausage (out of casing) and brown.

Once browned, add in the garlic and onion. I went with a whole onion and 3 garlic cloves.

And stir it in. Cook for a few minutes – until the onion starts to become translucent.

Then add in the beans, tomatoes, spices (salt, pepper, oregano, garlic), and chicken stock.

I also added a healthy shake of Awesome Antler Rub by Mom’s Gourmet.

Mom’s Gourmet is a local Cleveland company. They make AMAZING spice blends. I was introduced to them this summer at the farmers market. The wonderful grass-fed beef stand right next to me (SandFarm) also sold these rubs. I am addicted to this one and pretty much add it to almost everything I make ๐Ÿ™‚ Find it at Whole Foods if you live in Cleveland! Sorry to plug more, but SandFarm beef is great! ย They do weekend pickups. Check out their site if you are interested.

Anyway… onto the soup ๐Ÿ™‚ Bring everything to a boil.

Then, reduce and simmer for 3 minutes. After, add in the spinach. I just grabbed two HUGE handfuls! ย The more the merrier for me when it comes to greens.

Stir it around until the spinach wilts. The final soup will look like this:

I served mine up with some grated parmesan and a piece of toast. Joe made the bread yesterday and it is delish!

Enjoy!

Are you much of a soup person? What is your ultimate comfort food?

Later and thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

 

7 Responses to “Sausage Spinach Soup”

  1. That looks delicious! I know I told you before that I don’t really make soup at home, but between your guest post, and now this one?!?!?!?!?! Maybe my new rule is “I only make CARLY soups at home” ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mina Says:

    I love, love, LOVE a good soup. I make one similar to yours (w/out the sausage and chicken stock) w/ lentils, sweet potatoes, spinach and whatever else I have to throw in. I’m trying a smoked pumpkin black bean chili this weekend. I know it’s technically not a soup but still falls into that category for me.

    Mina

  3. I love soup. And, I would love this one.

  4. Hi,

    Great blog. Good to have found it.

    When I moved away from England I missed sausages mre than I missed my family! I started making them myself here in Greece. before long I was supplying loads of people with them each week.

    I wrote a quick and easy guide so people could find out my recipies and how to make sausages for themselves. It is free at http://www.sausages-sausages.com

    Barry


Leave a Reply

