So I Married a Chef

Adventures in Baking Balanced with Exercise and Healthy Meals

AMAZING Granola November 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — carly71722 @ 11:52 am

So, I didn’t really take any pictures of the granola making process. I apologize ahead of time, but here’s the story…

I realized that I was low on granola. I make it every 2-3 weeks and snack on a little each day with yogurt, oats, my hand. Anyway, this morning I topped my oats with a small handful and Joe finished off the rest of the batch. The previous granola was an awesome honey almond one that will be shared later. I was brainstorming what kind to make next while I threw together my Caribbean Crunch Blondies for a blogger cookie exchange this week. These blondies are spiked with rum and have toasted coconut, white chocolate, and macadamia nuts. TO.DIE.FOR! With the smell permeating my kitchen, I used this as an inspiration for my granola. I had no intentions of blogging this, but upon first bite I knew it was a recipe that was to be shared with the blog world. Meet – Coconut Rum Granola.

Coconut Rum Granola

Combine the following dry ingredients in a large bowl:
3 cups rolled oats
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp. flax meal
3 T. brown sugar
2 Tbsp chia seeds
1/4 tsp salt

Combine the following wet ingredients in a small bowl or measuring cup:
1/4 cup agave nectar
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 Tbsp applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp coconut extract
1 1/2 tsp dark rum

1. Preheat the oven to 350*. Line a sheet pan with silpat or parchment.
2. Mix wet and dry ingredients together (use your hands, it works well). Spread mixture onto prepared baking sheet.
3. Bake for 10-15 minutes, stirring every 3-5 minutes. The mixture will have dried up a little, but will still be moist.

Add and stir in:
1 cup almonds
1/2 cup shredded coconut

4. Bake an additional 10-15 minutes, again stirring every 3-5 minutes. Remove from the oven when the mixture has browned a little, and is still just a tiny bit wet, the edges of the pan will be darker. The granola will crisp up while it cools on the pan.

Add and stir in:
1 cup dried cherries

5. Let cool completely on the cookie sheet. Devour. Lock this up, it is quite dangerous 🙂

Check it out up close, you can see the little white chia seeds.

This makes about 6 cups. These are each 2 cup Ball jars.

Stay tuned for the cookie exchange. I am bringing three different goods.

What’s your favorite kind of granola? Do you make your own, or buy it?

 

3 Responses to “AMAZING Granola”

  1. Fallon Says:

    WOW I have to try this. Sounds delicious and a nice surprise for the cold months ahead. It reminds me of somewhere tropical with the rum and coconut 😉

    I’m lazy and just buy granola.. or use certain cereals that are crunchy enough to pass as granola. I’ve made homemade granola once and it was great.. Just haven’t made it in a while. And it’s so easy too!

  2. Mina Says:

    I tried making granola once – because it sounded SO easy – and ended up burning it. I thought it was supposed to crunch up in the oven, not while cooling. SO this post will definitely make me give it another try. I have no willpower though, so this could be dangerous……..

  3. I have been looking for a good granola recipe. I will have to try yours!


Leave a Reply

